California Requires that All Employees Receive Sexual Harassment Training as of Jan 2019.
Employers must then provide the training every 2 years. Current, state law requires employers with 50 or more employees to provide training to supervisory employees only. Under SB 1343, covered employers must:
- Effective January 1, 2019, employers in California with 5+ employees (or independent contractors) must provide sexual harassment training to ALL employees (SB 1343). The deadline for compliance with initial training is January 1, 2020.
- Employers To Provide Nonsupervisory employees with 1 hour of training every 2 years
- Continue to provide supervisory employees with 2 hours of training every 2 years
- Both supervisory and nonsupervisory employees should receive training within 6 mo. of hire.
- Training for temporary employees must be provided by the temporary services employer, not the client.
Mirroring existing law, The Sexual Harassment Training must include a component on the prevention of abusive conduct in the workplace as well as workplace harassment based on gender identity, gender expression, and /or sexual orientation.
Additionally, as of January 1, 2020, seasonal and temporary employees hired to work for less than 6 months must receive training within 30 days of hire or within 100 hours completed.
NOTE: California Department of Fair Housing and Employment (DFEH) is mandated to make a new poster and fact sheet for these changes.