Sexual Harassment Training Connecticut

Sexual Harassment Training Connecticut

Any Connecticut resident with questions, or concerns about their individual harassment, or discrimination workplace issues, in the state of Connecticut, should consult with Connecticut’s Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities (CHRO). CHRO states their goal is to, “to eliminate discrimination/harassment through civil and human rights law enforcement and to establish equal opportunity and justice for all persons within the state. through advocacy and education.” With regard to specific forms of sexual harassment, the state website contains a step-by-step guide on how to progress, if you feel victimized by sexual harassment in the workplace.
This Commission has authority from Connecticut General Statute § 46a-54, which specifies the authority to “require an employer having three or more employees to post in prominent and accessible location information portraying  the illegality of sexual harassment/discrimination and remedies available to victims of sexual harassment.” The commission also requires companies having fifty or more employees to provide two hours of training and education to all supervisory employees. This statute also provides sexual harassment training information. Federal guidelines concerning sexual harassment are also included, with specific areas of justification, which are available to victims of sexual harassment. These  laws include:

The specific laws & forms of Sexual Harassment

  • Sexual harassment is strictly prohibited by the State of Connecticut’s Discriminatory Employment Practices Law and Title VII and  the 1964 Civil Rights Act;
  • The recourse avenues for victims of sexual harassment, which can include but are not limited to;
    • Wage disputes
    • Monetary Damages
    • Promotion or reinstatement
  • The address information for the CHRO:
  • Notice that Connecticut law specifies that a formal written complaint be filed with the Commission within 180 days of the date when purported workplace harassment took place
  • Large darkly colored notice stating, “Sexual Harassment is Illegal.”
  • Companies with fifty or more employees must provide a classroom style setting. involving sexual harassment education & prevention. The state has specific curriculum criteria.

If your company needs sexual harassment or harassment training in Connecticut, click here to see Employee Harassment Training’s Connecticut trainers.

Follow us for more content:

Get In Touch

Follow our social media accounts for the
latest news in Employment Harassment
Training or get in touch directly via phone
or email.

About Us

Our Founders, Jill Scala and Dr. Ron Marquardt, have more than 50 years combined experience in the business training industry. Their flagship company, MVP Seminars, is home to over 250 business training professionals and more than 100 keynote topics.

Scroll to Top